Where Do We Go From Here?

Where do we go from here? This isn’t where we intended to be. We had it all: you believed in me, I believed in you…

Now that life has given us the chance to part and go separate ways, I think it’s not quite the time yet. I always thought we were going to make it through. I guess I was wrong. Nothing is forver and, certainly, we weren’t. When I first realised it was you who I wanted to have in my life, everything seemed so clear. The path was right ahead of us, I only had to take you by the hand and walk. You’d follow me, I’d follow you.

But I was wrong. So wrong. I don’t believe in destiny, but I truly believed we were meant to be. Maybe if you would’ve read the signs better. Maybe if I would’ve spoken out loud instead of just giving you hints. Maybe. There are millions of maybe’s… but none of them happened. You just didn’t see me. I just didn’t tell you. We’re matched. The only thing is that you may not know anything of this at all, you’ll have nothing to worry about. Nothing to regret. Not me.

I’ve got a whole life for regrets. You were standing right in front of me, just some words away, but I said nothing. Nothing. Nothing! I said nothing! Everything I imagined could not happen just because I didn’t open my mouth. The life I thought of us together just turned into a life of pure regret. The big change some few words can make…

I never took you for granted, never thought you’d be there forever. I never thought you’d be sitting down waiting for me to tell you. But I never thought I’d lose you. I never thought it’d be too late once I was able to speak: you were miles away, now with someone else waiting you to come back. And all I can do now is watch you two, the pretty pictures, the surprise visits… the kisses, the hugs, everything I dreamt. But it’s some other guy’s face the one in there, not mine. You and I never turned into an us… but we’re still you and I.

Time and distance have given me the perfect chance to forget you. But it’s not easy to wipe the blood away from the heart. Now that life has given us the chance to part and go separate ways, I think it’s not quite the time yet. One day you’ll come back, sooner or later. Anything can happen, but I know I won’t stand in the way. But something I’ve got to do. Something more than writing these words for you, my Pure Wisdom. ‘Cause deep in my heart I’m concealing things that I’m longing to say. Scared to confess what I’m feeling, frightened you’ll slip away.

You must love me.

You Must Love Me Madonna

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

