Talking by Myself

Talking by Myself
(2013)

I am talking to myself
Pretending to talk
To someone else
Needing to fill in
The gaps
That kept blank
Between
Ourselves.

I pretend
That you will listen
To me.
I pretend
That you’re willing
To see me.

And I talk to myself
Pretending to be you
Instead.
Pretending to get
From you
What still remains
Unsaid.

And I ask you
What I need to know.
And you answer me
What I hope
I might listen
From you
Though
I know
That I don’t know
Whatever
You have to say
Or do
‘Cause
After all
I am myself
I am not you.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

